top of page
  • Writer's picturedeanna-nielson

My Final Thoughts

I wanted to write one final post to say how wonderful this semester has been. I have loved working with these students and am so proud of them. They are all incredibly creative, and I loved seeing their different ideas come to life. I hope they learned as much as I did. I tried to expose them to many types of art and artists, and they were blown away! I loved seeing their reactions to the artworks I showed them, because they got really excited and would try to guess how they were made.


My goal was to help connect art to their everyday lives and to help them see how much it can add to their lives. To do so, I focused on connecting the artworks to other subjects- like math, science, and literature- or an aspect of their lives. As you look through the posts, you can see the lessons I taught them.


I think their favorite lessons were printmaking, watercolor, and sculpture. Those were all a lot of fun! My overall favorite was the sculpture project, and Mrs. Wessman loved the "weaving" project. Looking back, one of my favorite moments was seeing their figure drawings before and after our figure drawing lesson. It was cool to see how much they had improved in such a short time! I am so grateful for this opportunity to work with these wonderful second graders and so sad to see it end.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page