top of page
  • Writer's picturedeanna-nielson

Nature Mandalas

The students have been learning about conserving Earth’s environments and resources. I love nature and am passionate about sustainability, so this got me excited! I decided to start this lesson by sharing artists who use art to advocate for the environment, specifically Ansel Adams, Rufai Zakari, and Andy Goldsworthy. One student excitedly said he would look up more information about Andy Goldsworthy when he got home, which was fantastic! I also introduced traditional mandalas and nature mandalas.


One way to practice conservation while making art is to make ephemeral art out of natural materials! (Ephemeral= temporary, transitory). Since the school is in a suburb, I gathered rocks, leaves, branches, and other materials to bring in for the students to use. We passed out the materials, and the students made earth art and nature mandala inspired art! I loved this project, and I thought their artworks rocked!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page